A Touch Of Spring……..Table Runner

A Touch Of Spring

A Touch Of Spring
A Touch Of Spring

I just loved hooking up this runner ..initially intended for my dressing table….but in my enthusiasm I made too many motifs and then didn’t have the heart to not use them…so this one is going on the side board….:-)) Here’s how I hooked this delicate little baby… Yarn used….DMC #20 one 50 gram ball…colour Ecru. Varigated Yarn ……in 17 shades…..

DMC #8 pearl variegated
DMC #8 pearl variegated

..DMC #8 pearl and red heart yarn of the same colour For the border and joining I used DMC #30

DMC #20 Ecru
DMC #20 Ecru

DSC_6671 DSC_6665

DMC #30 grey
DMC #30 grey

Beads…tear drops and seed Hook size 1.oomm All in all I made around 34 motifs…U can make more or less according to ur preference. Here r a few pics I took while hooking this project…………the pattern is at the bottom of this post….This is not my design…..but was given to me by a friend.

Hooking the flower to the main motif
Hooking the flower to the main motif

DSC_6722 DSC_6729 DSC_6735

Then came hooking the last row of the motif along with joining it to the next motif…..

Spring blooms......
Spring blooms……
Joining the motifs
Joining the motifs

After I finished joining the motifs…..it seemed as though something was missing so I used opaque off white tear drop beads, colourless seed beads and pearl beads….in the border…I crocheted this on with a mixture of slip stitch and scs…along the border making this the last row……since the motifs and flowers were already done…I  sewed in the pearl beads and the colourless seed beads to accentuate the centre of the flower .

sewed in pearl beads and colourless seed beads in the centre
sewed in pearl beads and colourless seed beads in the centre

Teardrop beads, seed and pearl beads on the border
Teardrop beads, seed and pearl beads on the border

Blocking: After laying the runner on two foam boards…     I spray starched 5 motifs at al time and stretched them out and blocked them with pins…making doubly sure that the motif retained it’s shape and that the beads stood out. After I finished …

DSC_6745               DSC_6746

This is how you pin the piece...a pin at each corner
This is how you pin the piece…a pin at each corner

DSC_6757

I let it dry well and then unpinned the runner…..And Voila……..

ALL DONE!!!
ALL DONE!!!
Pattern for main Mini Pineapple Motif
Pattern for main Mini Pineapple Motif
Pattern for the centre flower
Pattern for the centre flower

I hope you enjoyed  going thru this post ….Lovely having you here…Thanks for dropping in….and do leave a comment telling me what you think of my work…..Keep that Smile on & Loads of Love….!!!!

18 thoughts on “A Touch Of Spring……..Table Runner

  1. Wow….. this is super.
    And yeah, congrats on the Blog… have been wondering why you have never ventured into the world of blogging, sply cos you are as good with words as your are with yarn nd hook 🙂
    Looking fwd to more posts… 🙂

    1. Thanx A Ton Suja……You know how I am with anything technical…..I keep away….needed the whole owning to figure out how to make a post and then a whole afternoon to figure out how to publish it..:-P

  2. Too good. Very nicely explained. A small suggestion, my view. it’d be still better if you had explained in detail – the making of main motiff

Leave a Reply

